The view from the top of the fall

If only I had a time machine that I could step into, be transported back, that is where I want to go, to the top of the waterfall.  Sitting there smiling, happy that  I finally reached the top of Crab Tree Falls. The waterfall cascading down, the sun beating down on me, as I sit on a rock enjoying the wonderful Spring day.   I look over, there he is standing staring into yonder. My heart skips a beat every time I look at him, the love I feel overwhelms me and then a tinge of sadness crosses my face as I think about him leaving, him going away.

DSC_0071

As I sit there enjoying that day, I don’t want to dwell on it, I want to enjoy being here with him as he holds my hand  so I could jump over an icy patch, this person who makes my heart skip a beat when he nearly missed  stepping on a stone.

I just can’t stop feeling happy. I don’t want this moment to end.

The 3-mile hike up to the top of the fall, with us laughing and me terrified every time I saw an ice patch and he holding my hand so I could jump over it. I felt safe, that he was there to catch me, all my fears and inhibitions just thrown out of the window at that moment…this is who I want to be with, I never wanted him to let go of my hand.

However, right now, my heart and head is in turmoil, why would that same person want to hurt me beyond words can explain.  I know, I can’t constantly think of the bad things or the hurt, the pain, the despair I feel. I want to think about the good times, maybe that is what I need in order to forgive and heal and move on.

He comes and sits next to me on the rock, we sit there in silence, basking in the beauty that surrounds us, the sound of the waterfall, the people around us, life could not be any better. Our biggest issue at that moment was, what should we have for lunch, what should we do for the rest of the day. Those were our biggest problems we faced that particular day.

We race back down, stopping from time to time to catch a glimpse of the waterfall, before we make it all the way down. Hand in hand we walk back to the car, silence between us, not an eerie quiet, but just lost in our own thought at that moment. Me not wanting that moment to ever end. oh what I will do be back atop that waterfall again with him beside me.

There is no time machine, there is no going back whatsoever, but I can for one day, dream of that day atop the waterfall.

 

The view from the top

DSC_0032

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The view from the top of the fall

  1. Nicky says:

    Very nice! Excellent descriptions. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

