Write, Bake and Run

I want to write, I want to run, I want to bake, I want to conquer the world right now.

The sun is warm and bright and I am beginning to feel like a new person emerging from a cocoon of heartbreak and subdued moods

It is one of those rare days where I have the day off from work. I dream of days like this, sitting at the corner coffee shop, watching people walk by briskly or sometimes strolling. Me near a window on my computer, pounding away at the keys,  pulling my eyes away from the computer long enough to watch the world go by.

Even though there are a million thoughts going through my head, I have this urge to get up, set aside my computer and go run, so I can feel the wind in my face, the sweat pouring down and just the adrenaline pumping through me encouraging me to go on for miles and feel free.

Maybe it is the excitement  of my goal for another half marathon or maybe even two this year. I want to challenge myself, push myself to run and run and run.

It is odd that heartbreak has turned into my muse, given me inspiration to write and to run, however it took out the inspiration to bake, even though I always found being in my kitchen therapeutic.

The stirring, the mixing, the rolling, the flour strewn all over my kitchen counter and sometimes on me, the music in the background, makes me forget everything else in my life. I love how every little item thrown together ends up being something edible, something to show and enjoy and share with friends.

The last few weeks have been difficult,  I have shied away from the kitchen, going to market seemed like a chore, getting out of bed and trying not to think of why someone would hurt me was a challenge. Putting one foot in front of the other, so I could step outside and face the world seemed to bring me down.

But the last few days, I have found myself once again believing in myself, the words of encouragement from my friends, help me kick the blues, makes me want to grab my life back and not let someone have the power over me. I am a bad loser, so if I continue to wallow in self-pity, the other person wins and I want to be the one who wins this battle.

So here I am all signed up for the WordPress daily challenge and also back in my kitchen being inspired to try new things for the market.

While listening to the music in my kitchen, I hear a song which resonates with me, the words are what I want to say to him. I feel  tears welling up in my eyes, but I focus on the baking instead. I pull the tray out of the oven and stare at what I just made and it makes me smile.

My heart maybe broken and I might have moments of despair and wanting to sit around moping. I may even  give into the temptation of moping, but for now, I am ready to write, bake and run.

So on that note, I put on my running shoes and head outside, time to pound that sidewalk once again.

DSC_0001

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Write, Bake and Run

  1. They do look good. I was torn between leaving a comment and eating. Makes me wish I could reach through the picture and grab one. It is good to hear that you want to write, bake and run. That is indeed better than mopping around. But from my experience there will be days when mopping around will be the only thing you can do. Just part of the healing process and eventually get to a point where you are healed. I look forward to reading more of what you write for the writing challenge. Looks like your off to a good start indeed 🙂

    Like

    • I am glad that you decided to leave a comment. I wish I could have said eat one and leave a comment too.

      Yes there are days I want to mope, but that’s when I try to force myself to run instead or write. I’m excited about the daily challenge.

      Thank you for reading and for your feedback and encouragement.

      Like

  2. camillapait says:

    They look incredible! I hope you feel better. Absolutely no one deserves to be made to feel that way. And congratulations on the marathon goals.. Truly inspirational. XX

    Like

Leave a Reply

