Home is where the heart is – WP Challenge Day 11

The coconut trees sway to the wind, blocking the view of the house from the street, where  dogs are barking in the sweltering Sri Lankan heat.

While the 3 bedroom house I called home when I was 12 was located on one side of the property, the opposite part of the properly was laden with fruit trees such as banana trees and mango trees and various other fruit trees. We would attempt to climb the trees as kids and crawl back down with bruises and scrapes. My parents spent most of their free time in the garden, watering the vast amount of plants they seem to collect. This was our jungle, at least that’s how I remember it being.

My dad had a row of fish-tanks lined up against the back wall, that separated our home from the neighbors.  He would spend his weekend working on the fish tanks which had  lights in all the tanks and at night it would be lit up lighting up the whole back yard. Kids would stand by the gate and stare at the fish tanks, which was visible when the gates were open, while we would sit in the open verandah, the fan attempting to cool the hot humid air, just enjoying the fish swimming around. There would be background music playing, my dad sipping his beer enjoying his evening. My mum would be in the kitchen making us dinner while my sister would have her head buried in a book and I would be around trying to be an annoying 12-year old.

As the day slipped into night, you could hear the frogs croak in the distance and silence stills the night.

This was my home when I was 12 and this is the place I still call home. I may not live there and it may no longer be my home, but that is where my heart is and therefore that will always be my home.

Day 11 WP Challenge

Tell us about the home where you lived when you were twelve. Which town, city, or country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An airstream or an RV? Who lived there with you? 

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home is where the heart is – WP Challenge Day 11

  1. Jim says:

    I really enjoyed this Tania. Hard to imagine that Tania was ever a little girl with such fond memories of childhood.

    Like

Leave a Reply

