You find out who your friends are

It is only the great-hearted who can be true friends. The mean and cowardly, can never know what true friendship means.

Charles Kingsley

It is way past my bed time, but my mind is churning with ideas for writing, which I am unable to put down into words right now. I stare at the blinking cursor wondering where I should begin, what should I say.

There are numerous posts that I have started but never finished. I want to keep writing, but working, bike riding, baking, running seems to have taken over everything else in my life for now. I just go from one thing to another and never seem to stop long enough to do anything else.

Having signed up for 2 half-marathons is no small feat for me. I work 9 hours a day, I run a few miles a day and some days bike ride a few miles, after all that I need to get creative in the kitchen for things to sell at the farmers market…my mornings just turn into nights and on and on it goes.

Today during my run, my thought was on friendships, why that question lingers on my mind is a story for another post.

I realized that despite my keeping busy with endless projects and shying away from friends does not mean they forget me. The more I push them away, the more persistent they are. If they don’t hear from me for a few days, they worry about me.  I just want to say a big thank you to my loyal friends who despite my pushing them away  found ways to be there for me during difficult times. I have no idea what I would do without any of you.

I realize that I can’t run away from my friends, they will find way to catch up with me, so finally this past weekend I took a breather from my endless projects to enjoy a whole weekend with great friend(s). Movie, dinner, cooking, baking,  bike riding and most importantly the endless conversations and laughter out on the porch over a few glasses of wine,  made me realize how important my friends are.

I may have not said this recently, but I am thankful to those friends, who understand the meaning of friendship, and that friendship equals loyalty no matter what and it means being there for each other during good and bad times.

For the most part my friendships span decades, but then again there are those who don’t understand the meaning of friendship and are selfish and will do anything to get what they want, those are the kind of people who need to be weeded out and kept out of your life.

“When you chose your friends, don’t be short-changed by choosing  personality over character”. 

Most of my friends might live miles away, be it another state or another country, but always seem to know how to be supportive. I however, want to thank a friend who lives around me (you know who you are) thank you for your patience and for listening to me rant and rave about so many different things. I tried to push you away many times, but you persisted in being there and all I can say is thank you for all the words of encouragement and wisdom.

It may have taken me a while, but I realized one bad friend without loyalty or decency does not mean everyone is like that. There are always good people and bad people and I appreciate the good people who are in my life and thankful that the bad ones are gone.

Whoever said “With friends like that you don’t need enemies” couldn’t have said it any better.

But for me this post is about the wonderful friends I have and my way of saying thank you for everything you do for me.

This one is for all of you.

 

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You find out who your friends are

  1. Jim says:

    Great post Tania!

    Like

Leave a Reply

