The Thunder Rolls

“It’s 3.30 in the morning, not a soul in sight, the city’s looking like a ghost town on a moonless summer night. Raindrops on the windshield, there’s a storm moving in. He’s heading back from somewhere, that he never should have been, and the thunder rolls”.

Garth Brooks – When the Thunder rolls

That was the song I thought of when I stood staring outside on the day “Hurricane Arthur” was passing through this area. I am not sure why I woke up around that time, but I stood at my window watching the rain pound against the sidewalk.

I love watching the rain coming down, the trees swaying to the strong gusts of wind, no one else out there, just me, my thoughts and the rain.

Unfortunately my thoughts turn to the recent sadness or heartbreak I had to deal with. I am no longer consumed by those thoughts, but yet on this particular day, my mind flashes back in time to a day where we watched the thunder and lightning strike and the conversation we had on that particular spring day.

As I sit here trying to type this post, my mind is blank now. So much pain and hurt has passed that I find myself immune to thoughts of him. It no longer hurts me or pains me. I no longer want to think about the person I thought I knew, because I never really knew him, he wasn’t the person I thought him to be.

I had put him on this pedestal I had built, only to have him fall off it, in my eyes. People change and most often we see different sides to them, but this was nothing like I expected.  Despite his apology for what he did, there is no turning back, once its done, it is done. Some hurts don’t go away with a sorry.

Time has moved on and I realize things happen for a reason and every action has made me a stronger person and a better person. Like the saying goes “the best revenge you can take is not to be like your enemy”.

Right now I might be lost for words, but this song says a lot of what I want to say.

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Thunder Rolls

  1. Jim says:

    I think that you finished this by saying that you were at a loss for words…….nothing wrong with that. The message gets through. JD

    Like

Leave a Reply

