Why I write, run or bake

“Every new day is another chance to change your life”

The clock is ticking for the half marathon I signed up for, I feel I am nowhere near being ready to run 13.1 miles. My love hate relationship with running continues, I love the challenge but I hate running…if that even makes sense. Every weekend morning I plan to go run, but eventually sleep somehow seems to win over the running.

But this morning I was determined, that I have to start running, there is no more excuses, no matter what, I was going to put on those running shoes and run. Even though I struggled to get going, I did go for a 5 mile run. The hardest part is starting, 2 miles into it, my feet just go one in front of the other, the music pounding in my ears and I lose myself in the most mundane and random thoughts.

This morning I was pondering on the question someone recently asked me, which was why I write ?  I wish the answer was as simple as, I love to write, yes, that is part of the reason, but writing is my escape, so is running or baking. I always thought myself as a writer, I used to write corny poetry as a teen and then I wrote a few short stories, which got published and eventually I got a job in a newspaper.

However, my writing came to a standstill when I moved to the US, during that time I found something else I was passionate about, cooking/baking. I would watch endless episodes on Food Network and try to re-create them with my own twist and found baking my new escape. That continued on and that eventually led to me letting everything else I do fall by the wayside and baking became my new focus.  Years later, I still love spending time in the kitchen, sharing whatever comes out of the oven with friends and now that hobby has turned into a semi a money-making venture for me at the farmers market.

It is my hobby, it is my passion and nothing gives me greater joy than seeing someone savor something I have made and watch their face light up.

Coming back to writing, my writing took a back seat to the baking and running, however recently when I found that someone I cared for hurt me so badly, I needed a place to vent, a place to share my pain, I decided to start this blog. What better way to try heal a broken heart or share your heartbreak, than write about it.

My heart is healed and I have moved on for the most part, even though there are moments when I catch my mind drifting to the pain, but those moments are rarer and rarer as time goes on.

I realize I am not defined by being with someone or that someone else does not complete me, I have to find ways to complete myself before letting anyone into my little cocoon. Pain and hurt is part of life, there is no controlling the behavior of another,  but I am glad that this hurt and pain was my muse for writing, it helped me re-ignite that love of writing I had.

My heart maybe healing and my running maybe improving, but most of all I am glad that I found writing again or that writing found me and that besides heartbreak I have stories that are worth sharing.

 

“The only lasting beauty, is the beauty of the heart “

Rumi

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I write, run or bake

  1. Mm.. escape from what, if I may ask? Happy writing/running/baking, nevertheless. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

