The long road to bucket lists

Nothing like a road trip to get you thinking about various things, be it life, writing, running or food. I spent hours thinking about life and writing during an overcast afternoon on the trip, where the sun was peeking from behind the clouds.

The world was rushing by quickly outside the car window, passing slow enough to grasp, but not slow enough to leave a lasting impact. Instead, the impression is formed from miles and miles of terrain extending from the road to the farthest reaches of my vision.

My friend and I have a long list of things to do, before the cold weather sets in and I go into hibernation, so we decided to maybe start ticking things off the list one trip at a time. Since this was the shortest trip, it turned into a trip for a cloudy Sunday.

As we talked about various topics, my thoughts turned to a bucket list I have been thinking of. Maybe mid-life crisis is setting in, making me want to think of bucket lists.

I for the most part never think of age or midlife crisis, but it has happened, the ultimate sign of middle age or is it old age. I tell myself it’s no big deal, after all it’s just 2 tiny numbers, but put them together and it looks like a huge number.

The positive thing about the huge number is that I finally have some experience under my belt, of course most of it is in hindsight kind of way, which won’t help me now anyway. Maybe I can pass it on to younger relatives, who will ignore it anyways.

I have been trying to compile a bucket list in the last few weeks, no I am not ready to kick the bucket, but it seems every time I look in the mirror I notice a few more white hairs making its appearance. It seems my hair follicles are telling me to accept the inevitable. I never thought there would come a day I would see so many white hairs…well I guess the fact that I have black hair makes it more visible. I could always patronize myself by claiming that a few white hairs makes me look more distinguished.

The list has not progressed very much, but I want to do a half marathon in another State (that will be taken care of end of this year) I want to do a half marathon in another country and then eventually a full marathon and now triathlon has been added to my list.

Like i have mentioned before, I am no natural-born runner. Running just happened and now I have a half marathon under my belt and by the end of this year I will have 3 half marathons under my belt.

When I started to run, half marathon was nothing but a dream, but since that dream came to fruition, I have no doubt my triathlon will happen, till then I am gonna keep running, riding my bike and dreaming of things for my bucket list.

 

 Yesterday is but today’s memory, and tomorrow is today’s dream.

Khalil Gibran

 

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized, WP Writing 201 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The long road to bucket lists

  1. nilikasturi says:

    Looking forward to the next…

    Like

  2. Jim says:

    Captured me. I enjoyed Tania. JD

    Like

Leave a Reply

