The flickering light

I am ready to head outside and put some miles on my running shoes. It has been one of those weekends, that I feel an absolutely necessity to go outside and run till I can run no more. My mind says go run 10 miles, but my body says take a break, but as much as I want to listen to my body, my mind happens to be more strong-willed at this moment, so off I go.

Energy Bar – Check
Shoes – Check
Watch – Check
Sunblock – check
Glasses – check

It all started because, I decided to bake something new for the farmers market, the fact that I did not test the recipe before was my first mistake. It did not turn out the way I wanted it to, but the fact that I am obsessive about food and want it to be close to perfect does not help me either.

However, the whoopie pie, once baked did not look like a whoopie pie, therefore became a Whoopsie Pie. I generally feel uncomfortable selling things that don’t meet my standards, but i had baked it and there no was turning back on a Friday evening.

Saturday morning, I try to put together the Whoopsie pie only to find out it does not fit into the bags that I generally use and while I try to figure out what I could do, I realize I forgot to buy cheese for one of my pastries.

I then had to turn the oven off, head to the grocery store, of course as Murphy’s law would have it, I hit every red light between home and the grocery store.

To add to my crazy morning, some of the pastries were stuck in the baking pan, making it impossible to have the usual quantities I sell. I was ready to toss everything in the trash and crawl back to bed and stay there. However, considering I had customers waiting for me, I had to put my best foot forward and head out. I knew there was no way my day could get any worse…so instead of shying away from it, I decided to meet it head on.

On the positive side, I  did sell everything I had within a few hours, giving me some hope for my day to get better..

Back home, despite my best efforts to continue to make my day better,  it just seemed to continue going downhill for reasons I will spare you. When nothing goes right, I have a tendency of wanting to step out of my apartment. Considering I have 3 weeks to the 1/2 marathon, what better way to exude my energy and get my mind off things than pounding the sidewalk.

As my mind drifts from one thing to another and the miles keep getting added on, I get it, it’s all mind over matter and maybe there is a light at the end of this tunnel. Right now I see a slight flicker and that indeed might be the beginning.

My mind might have said 10 miles, but eventually my body let me do 6 miles, I call that a happy compromise.

10610491_10204755285028751_6827010206529449281_n

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The flickering light

  1. Jim says:

    I realized as I read again that I made the musing albeit small part. How is the watch working out?

    JD

    Like

Leave a Reply

