The eve of the half-marathon

I sit here carb loading for my race tomorrow, the excitement is building and I feel ready to get this pre-race jitters over with.

The fact that I did 10 miles a few days ago somehow has made a huge impact on my moral for the run. I should not be so nervous since this is my second half-marathon, but this year has been one with a lot of ups and downs (more downs I guess) so getting to the point of actually doing it feels like things are looking up.

Last year I did the race with someone special, someone who I thought was in love with me and I was in love with.  Looking back there is one thing I realize, that people come into your life for a reason, not necessarily always a positive reason, but there is a reason.

When I signed up last year to do a half-marathon, I knew nothing about marathons, typically from what I understand, people start off by running 5k’s or 10k’s, but me, oh no, no such thing, I just jumped in right into a half-marathon. My goal was finishing it and I did finish it, not in the time I expected, but who cares, I did it.  I felt even better because there was someone there sharing in the excitement of doing his first half marathon too,  there he was running beside me, encouraging me and there at the finish line to celebrate the moment with me.

A year later, I am doing the same race, but sans that person. Coming back to people coming into your life for a reason, I made some new friends and it turns out they are doing this race and I feel excited to know that there is someone else I know running with me and friends I can share this excitement with.

I was feeling nostalgic thinking about last year, but memories are exactly that – memories, you reminisce, you cherish, you ponder, you even miss those moments, but life goes on.

So while I feel a tinge of sadness and wish that person was running this race with me or had some words of encouragement, I am thankful to him for the memories of the first half marathon I ever ran, how could I ever forget that.

So as I put last year’s race behind me, I look forward to the race this year and to the new friends I made and will continue to make as I run, walk or crawl to the finish line.

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

