Unlocking my mind

I notice the leaves are falling, the weather is getting cooler and darkness seems to set in earlier than before…. it just reminds me that winter is around the corner.

Time to dust off the jackets and polish my boots and find my cold weather running gear, if I will ever use it.

The bottom line is I hate the cold..yes I said it, I hate the long cold wintry nights. My apartment seems to have an eerie quiet around winter nights. Maybe this year, I will actually try lighting a fire, sitting in front of it and watching the flames dance, while I sip a hot cup of cocoa.

Instead of talking about winter, I should enjoy fall…as hard as I try, fall reminds me of winter and that I will have to bundle myself up in layers upon layers of clothes and put my shorts and t-shirts away.

While for many this might be normal, I am a warm weather gal, I grew up in the tropics, where we had no idea about winter or snow or snow boots or jackets…it was an endless array of sunshine, shorts, flip-flops and did I say sunshine ?

Well for now instead of thinking of falling leaves, cold weather and snow, let me think about running instead.

Its been about 2 weeks since my half marathon and I have been bad since that day. I have had copious amounts of fast food, pizza, doughnuts, fried food, cake, coffee with loads of sugar and whipped cream and on and on it goes, but today, I reeled that monster in. I am back to my healthy eating and back to running.

It was the running that reminded me about cold weather. I set off this morning for a long run at 8 am, but my normal long run was shortened because, thanks to the high pollen count, a runny nose and burning eyes made it hard to focus on running. But I kept going, after all I seem to keep adding more half- marathons on my to-do list. The one became 2 and 3 and now it has become 4.  I just decided to take on another half marathon on my birthday weekend, what better way to celebrate getting a year older than running 13.1 miles with a friend and a bunch of strangers on a cold November morning.

Maybe I am being overly ambitious trying to do half-marathons back to back, but what is life without a few challenges thrown in. So as much as I hate the cold and would love to put my running shoes away. I am gonna keep going and going and maybe with all that running I will forget that I ran through winter and end up in Spring at the finish line.

 

***  I have once again signed up for writing 101 on WP. The first writing assignment was “Unlock your mind”

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, WP Writing 101 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unlocking my mind

  1. joyroses13 says:

    I think you did a great job and I totally agree about winter! I do love the beauty of the first snowfall tho! Looking forward to getting to know you in our Writing course!

    Like

Leave a Reply

