Cheating on writing

“Most of life is -on-the-job training. Some of the most important things can only be learned in the process of doing them”.

I began to think more about writing after a chat with a someone who writes for a living. I realized I miss it, I have neglected it for many thrills that seem to pass fleetingly. My goal was to type a post a day, but someday’s I stare at the blank screen and blinking cursor and unable to gather my thoughts to put it on here.

Today is no different, I sit here trying to write, but instead my mind is on running and baking.

I may have started this blog as a way to ramble about my broken heart, but also as a way to ignite that passion I have for writing. But somehow I seem to start many posts that never seem to make it beyond a draft. I get caught in the moment of something else and the writing gets neglected as everything else takes precedence over it.

The intention of wanting to write more is always there, who knows maybe a novel, a memoir or maybe a cookbook. I do have stories to tell and/or recipes to share. I have had friends volunteer to edit a book or test recipes if I do write one. The thought constantly lingers in my mind and who knows maybe one day, when I can sit still long enough I will work on that book.

I used to carry a notebook around with me always wanting to jot down ideas, but it seems the notebook has fallen by the way side as I keep finding my purse gets smaller and smaller and the books keeps getting left behind. One would think that having a ‘smart-phone’ might be the solution to not carrying a notebook, but for me I like the pen to paper rather than struggling to type on a keyboard that just seems way too small to type on.

I guess I just happened to be a sucker for some sort of fashion novelty and I got caught in the whirlwind of it. I felt like I was cheating on my writing with my purse for a fleeting thrill.

Its like any other infidelity, I will miss writing for a while and then I will be back with gusto and try to finish posts that never sees the end. But it was never that easy to get back into it, it wasn’t easy to establish that lost connection. It was as if the words held a grudge against me and refused to flow.

Of course I still have other interest besides writing, cooking and nurturing friendships with people, reading and trying to run half marathons. But I realized that I need to make a commitment to writing, because I am passionate about it and there is no denying that I feel it is therapeutic to see the words flow as I click click on the keyboard. I need to recognize that my passion for writing does not need to take backseat for my passion for food, it can all be blended in and be one.

Essentially I need to marry writing and keep the other activities as friends. Having sat down and written a post in full with no distraction might be what I need to internalize the message and keep me true to the one thing I love.

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Life, Love, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

