Running off the holidays

Another half marathon is over, and there is one more to go or so I say to myself, whilst I continue to search for half marathons on Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day. I hear you asking yourself, why would someone want to run on holidays ? To be honest I don’t even have an answer to that or maybe the truth is I don’t want to accept why I want to do that.

Despite my dislike of the cold weather, I survived running 13.1 miles on a cold windy day, where the temperature was 50 F at 5 am. Waking up at 4.30 am to catch a shuttle to the start line, stand around till 7 am for the race to begin, running up a steep bridge would be what some would call punishment and yes it probably is. But here I was doing all of it and more and enjoying it, that I want to run on my birthday, I want to run on thanksgiving and I want to run on Christmas day too.

image

In my defense, I think I am choosing to run during this time as a way to distract me from thinking too much about the holidays and family and friends I miss very much.

In case I have not mentioned it before, the holidays are my least favorite time of the year. The time I miss my family who lives on the other side of the world so much. I try to live in a bubble where holidays don’t exist and just wait anxiously for it to be over. It is hard to do it though, considering all I hear is Christmas music and it is impossible to step into a store without Christmas spirit being rubbed in your face.

This year I decided why not find some sort of run and at least do something that will make me somewhat happy. I say ‘somewhat, because the running part will be ok, it is standing in the cold before and after part which I won’t enjoy. But I still want to do it. My usual running partner will be out-of-town visiting family, however, despite that I decided I need to do this just for myself.

Sometimes even I don’t understand how running became such a huge part of my life and why I use it as a escapism, considering I am no athlete. But then again why spend my time the mundane details of why, after all the important thing is I do enjoy it and keeps my sanity intact (some friends might beg to differ) so I suppose till something in me snaps, I will keep running, till I can run no more.

 

 

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

