When did we become less compassionate ?

I was walking home from visiting a friend last night when a car stops by and the driver, seemed upset and kept talking about not having gas and being hungry.

For a minute I was absolutely confused about what she really wanted and I had to insist that she calms down and tell me what I could do for her. Well she gave me some story about how she is a diabetic and needed some food and money for gas.

However when I offered her the only 3$ that I had in my wallet, she said that was insufficient and I should ride with her to the seven-11 that was a few blocks away. For a minute I assumed she wanted me to do that, to buy her some food, considering there was no gas pump here.

I refused to get into her car, despite her assurance that she was not going to harm me. I told her that no one who was planning to hard me would warn me before doing it. But as I stood there on the cold November evening, something inside me made me agree to her idea, and I got into her car. Even though I made the silly spontaneous decision to do that, I had a sane moment to call a friend and make sure she stays on the phone with me.

I can hear everyone aghast at my decision and yes I admit it wasn’t a sane decision to make.

We get to 7-11 and I offer to give her 10$ and she then insists that she wants more. For a brief moment it crossed my mind that maybe this was a tall tal. But if she was, it was on her, because all I was doing was trying to help someone in their hour of need.

I know this might seem like a random story to read, but stay with me and continue to read about why I chose to make that decision of getting into the car.

The first thing that crossed my mind was, that this could me or someone I know. We could be this person who was in desperate need for money for gas or for food.

When I related this story to one of my friend’s, her first statement was “what has happened to you? When did you become this person who cannot say no?” In honesty I don’t even know when it happened.  Has getting older made me soft and naïve and gullible or is it just that I have become more compassionate with age.

I may never know and I don’t want to know, does it really matter why I am this way ?

As much as I admit, getting into a car was an absolutely foolish thing to do on my part, but I think for a moment I wanted to have faith in another human, believe in the goodness of people, even if it meant putting my life at risk.

We have lost so much of compassion as a society, fearing to stop to help someone, always worried that the person was out to hurt us. Maybe we give money to charitable organizations and volunteer our time to a good cause, but is that really enough ?

I don’t recommend getting into strangers cars, but as much as her story maybe a lie, I want to give her the benefit of the doubt. My friends lecture me about having put myself at risk and  there is no disputing that, but at least I live to tell this tale and feel better about having helped someone in my own little way. I may have not made a huge impact, but then again maybe I have.  I want to believe in humanity and that people ask for help because they need it and not because they want to. So why should I not reach out and help someone in whatever way I can ?

“You were born with the ability to change someone’s life, don’t ever waste it.”

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

