My summer fling

The leaves crunching beneath my shoes are shades of orange, yellow and red.  The wind continues to blow more leaves into my path, while the temperature seems to be steadily dropping as the rain comes down and daylight hours dwindle.

With the sun setting earlier each evening I have learnt that I have to start my run earlier in the evening. There is no time to sit back, catch my breath or relax after work. I have enough time to get home, put on my running gear and head out the door.

Today is no different, except the raindrops keep me company  on my run, and I wonder, when did I become this person who runs in the rain ? When did my summer fling with running turn into a year round romance.

I used to see people running in the rain, in the cold, in the sun and I always thought what commitment and  dedication they have. I knew I would never be one of them.  Running was something I did when it was warm and sunny and not in cold dreary weather.  I cheated on running during winter by staying indoors where it was warm and comfortable.

But somehow this summer fling has now turned into a more serious all year round romance and I don’t know when it happened and how running became such a big part of my life.

I am aghast that I am running in the rain, well I might have to draw the line at thunder and lightning. It all started because I decided I am going to run a full marathon next year. Plus being overly ambitious as I am, I found that a run they call the toughest road race in America is only a few hours from me…why not make running that half marathon my goal. No, I am not that overly ambitious to tackle the full one as yet.

Considering how much I dislike winter…yes I know, I have said many times before, but I say it again, I hate the cold. Here I am signing up for half marathons that take place in the cold months, leaving me no option but to continue training. I will be one year older as I run my last half marathon for this year, which takes place in a couple of days.

So as my summer fling continues into winter, 55 minutes into running, Bob Seger’s words ring in my ear, “Against the wind, I am still running against the wind, I am older now and I am still running against the wind”

photo on my run

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My summer fling

  1. Jim says:

    Awesome Tania! Especially reference to the Bob Seger song. JD

    Like

Leave a Reply

