Catch me if you can

There probably is one or five new grey hairs, one more candle to blow out on the cake, the last  half marathon for this year, all checked off my list.

It’s a chilly 38 degrees at 6.30 am on Sunday morning here in Norfolk, while I stand around with a few hundred people waiting for the announcer to say get set, ready and go run 13.1 miles. It is my last half marathon for this year or so say I now.

As a way to celebrate another birthday I decided to run 13.1 miles.  I found out the hard way that there is really no celebrating  a birthday when there is a run the next day. Despite it all, the birthday turned out to be way better than I had imagined. Lunch with one of my best friends and diner with another and gifts/ flowers from friends who live far away, makes me thankful for the little things.

Even though the weatherman predicted rain on the day of the run, it fortunately did not rain during that time.

Off we go and into mile 3, we were passing the street I live on and all I could think of was going rogue and quitting while ahead and going home. However, considering I am no quitter and mostly because I was the one who convinced my running partner to do this, there was no way I could quit.

Mile after mile I keep going, keeping pace with 2.15 minute paces or sometimes ahead of them. I generally zone out by about mile 7 and try to think of things to keep me amused.

However, I have a sudden apparition of someone fat with ugly teeth trying to catch me. This face belonged to my worst enemy check this post  There she was waddling after me, trying to catch up with me. But there was no way I was going to let her catch me.

Just the thought of this made me laugh so hard that it kept me going and maybe even helped me have the best time I have run. After all being chased by your worst enemy is reason enough to keep running, mostly because I knew without a doubt that she would not ever be able to keep up with me and because I did not want her anywhere near me, so I had to keep running.

By mile 10, the thought of her had disappeared and my mind was taken over by the signs people held on the sidewalk. It is always so encouraging to see random strangers standing out cheering you on, which helps to keep going.

The weather had warmed up by mile 11, I could feel the excitement just knowing that I was having one of my best runs and that the 2.15 pacers were still within my sight.

Running around my neighborhood, the roads that I stomp on a regular basis, made this one of my favorite races.

Here I am at mile 13, feeling excited because I did make the best time, running in the cold. Maybe it was the cold that made me run faster. Just knowing I made it in 2 hours and 15 mins, gives me hope that next year I can improve it to 2 hours and that full marathon that I talk about is no longer a dream but one I can achieve.

image

 

image

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catch me if you can

  1. unbelievablyunbounded says:

    Congrats congrats congrats! Beating a PR is always an amazing feeling. And happy belated birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

