My mind overfloweth

I hear the rain beating against my windows and the trees swaying to the wind outside, as another evening comes to an end. My body screams in exhaustion, but my mind is alert and refuses to corporate with my body, so here I am back again writing.

There are times I don’t seem able to put a cohesive sentence together and that could go on for weeks, then again there are other times where my mind is over-flowing with thoughts and I find it hard to control them…today is one of those overflowing days.

I typically work 9 hours a day, but when I looked outside this afternoon and saw the sun shining,  I felt claustrophobic and confined and had a dire need to head outside.  I headed straight to the coffee shop and stayed there enjoying the warmth of the sun beating down on me.

After a while of sitting there, watching everyone either run or ride their bikes past me made me antsy.  I knew it was time for me to lace up my running shoes again. Despite that every blog, book, magazine you read on running advises you not to run everyday, could they blame me for wanting to enjoy a warm winter day.

My mind typically bounces from one thing to another as I run, but today it was on writing, all the things I want to say on here. How much should I say and let my words flow freely. It is always hard trying to decide how much of your soul you want to bare. But I have learnt that sharing my thoughts with strangers seems easier than sharing these mundane thoughts with family and friends.

While running my stomach rumbles, bringing the thought of food to mind. I run past a lot of restaurants where the smell of food permeates, does nothing with helping me curb my thoughts on food. I rather think of food, writing and running, than love and heartbreak.

I force my mind to keep thinking of food, however I am at mile 5 debating between if I should keep going as darkness sets in or turning around, when the next song that comes on is ‘Not strong enough-by Apocalyptica’, reminding me once again of someone I am trying to forget.

I pick up my pace and try to outrun the song and not think about songs or him, but just how fast I can go.

Here I am back home and my GPS beeps and tells me I ran 7 miles. A smile crosses my face, despite the fact that the song came on, my thought of him was for a flashing second, now I can get my mind back to the food that awaits me.

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Life, Love, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My mind overfloweth

  1. unbelievablyunbounded says:

    I love how this post seemed like I was reading a snapshot of your mind.. Very cool writing style. In regards to my blog, I also thought about what/how much to share; it is SO much easier to write the truth to strangers than it is to bare your deepest thoughts to ‘real’ friends and family members. Do you share your blog with anyone you know in ‘real’ life? I decided to share my blog with my two best friends; I figured it might strengthen our already-strong relationships if I could get them in my mind. (:

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Abby. I can’t believe I have hit a 100 followers and only 3 are my “real friends”. I was hesitant to share this with them, but considering I tell them almost everything, I decided I will spare them listening to me and instead let them read my thoughts.

      But I have found that writing for strangers is easier, because I don’t have to sensor myself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

