The Story of the lines across my face

“All of these lines across my face, tell you the story of who I am, so many stories of where I have been and how I got to where I am. But these stories, don’t mean anything, when you got no one to tell them to, its true, I was made for you… ”

Brandi Carlile, The Story

It is a rare silent night around me. Typically I would hear cars speeding down the road, breaking all the laws or dogs barking in the distance and most often it is my neighbors above me stomping around in their apartment.

However, tonight the only sound is my music that plays in the background while I sit here clicking away on this computer, waiting for the pounds of fruit cake to finish baking.

DSC_0034

The song by Brandi Carlile, ‘The Story’,  is what is on. Something about this song triggers thoughts about my life and I find myself relating to it in an uncanny way.  Because I want the words engraved in my head, I have it on repeat. I want to remember that the lines across my face do tell a story of who I am.

I had never thought about the lines on my face as a way to tell a story, I thought of those lines when I was feeling vain and shallow and always trying to find ways to get rid of them. However, after listening to this song over and over, I realized that the lines are about the journey I have been on and the journey I will continue to take.

This song title came up a few days ago while talking to someone about music. He was compiling a list of 100 songs which he likes/enjoys and which are worth mentioning for various reasons. He sent me the list and while going through it, the title caught my attention and since then I have listened to it way too many times. (Thank you SM, for sharing that list with me)

The song makes me wants to write my story, and I don’t meant the story of heartbreak or betrayal, but my story about who I am and who I want to be and how I got to where I am. However, considering the night is almost over and I am more focused on baking, I will write that story another time.

The fruit cake is now done, but I am not ready to turn the oven off and leave the warm cozy kitchen. I feel compelled to start another baking project.

The customer who placed the order for the fruit cakes, reminded me about something I had made using cardamom, and now I felt the necessity to try something with cardamom.

It is moments like this that I feel I need intervention to get myself out of the kitchen. Considering there is no one to talk me out of it, I might as well stay in the kitchen and whip up another cake.

I weigh, mix, whisk, sift, while in between trying to take notes of  what I am doing. But my mind is still on the song.

The cake is now baked and after one taste I know, it is back to the drawing board for more tweaking with maybe less cardamom and more almonds and a way to figure out how to make sure it does not sink in the middle. I suppose all these adventures or misadventures in the kitchen is part of that story I will have to tell one day.

 

Almond & Cardamom Cake

Almond & Cardamom Cake

 

DSC_0074

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Life, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Story of the lines across my face

  1. alanjryland says:

    I really loved all that you had to say here. I think it’s important to embrace our experiences: All of our happy moments, for sure, yes, but our pain (understanding it and learning to live with it) is the true test of what makes us human. The lines on your face are character. Live a full life. Live it YOUR way.

    Lovely post. I want to find out who you are. What makes you happy, what has moved you! Give us your random musings! They are YOU, after all. 🙂 Much of the time, I don’t know what I’m going to write when I sign on. It’s an adventure. Live it, love it and embrace it.

    I want that cake, too. I can’t bake to save my soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading and your lovely comment. I am learning from my experiences good or bad and making the best of it. After all ‘life is what you make it, so make it worthwhile’.
      I wish i could share a piece of cake, i will have to eat an extra piece for you.

      Thank you again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

