The year that was

Another Friday night rolls around and I could be outside shopping, planning, organizing for Christmas, but here I am instead baking again. I may not be heading to the farmers market this Saturday, but I yet had to bake for an order that I received by one of my regular customers.

As the deserts bake in the oven, it’s time to grab a glass of wine, my computer and write another post. Considering this year is almost over, it feels like a good time as any to write about the year that was, I call it ‘My year – My soap opera’.

DSC_0018

White Chocolate, Cranberry & Pistachio Blondie

 

Cardamom & Chocolate Cookies

Cardamom & Chocolate Cookies

The year started off very promisingly.  I spent a month with my parents, my niece and nephews and friends in Sri Lanka. Nothing beats the time at home (I can’t help but refer to it as home). Unfortunately like everything else that time flew by way too fast and I was back again here, caught up in the rat race of life. (Here are a few of my favorite pictures from Sri Lanka)

1970559_10203481060813942_1746417173_n

1554434_10203203984607210_1811691659_n

24315_10203208640723610_976559402_n

My boy friend of that time found out he was moving overseas and it seemed like there was this impending doomsday hanging over our heads, wondering when and where he would be going and what would happen to us.

But time, fate and his lack of morals took care of that problem.

To those who have followed my random musings, know that, he broke my heart, betrayed me, stabbed me in the back and heart and that pretty much is a brief synopsis of that love story. But in hindsight Beyoncé’s song “The best thing I never had” rings true more than ever.

I am not sure why I chose someone who made me feel insecure, was suspicious of every thing I did and every male friend I had.  Mostly why would I want to be with someone who had no respect for me, but was blatantly flirting with someone I called a friend. I could go on about all the things he did, but he is no longer worth a mention in my blog or my life.  He had his share of my time and now it is time to grab that time back and take control of it.

A friendship spanning more than 15 years came to an end, when the said person came to visit me with her husband and child and flirted with my boy friend. She then chose to hurt me, her husband and everyone else around by lies, deceit and manipulation, with no regard for loyalty, morals or respect.  But as they say, good riddance to bad rubbish.

All of that heartache led me to run, run and run.  4 half marathons in a period of 3 months or less is how I survived it all.   What can I say about running that I have not said before, it saved me, it saved my soul and helped me keep my sanity intact and I will always be thankful for that and for having found a love for running.

It has been a year with ups and downs, but that is part of life for most people. I could dwell on it and let it take me down, but instead I chose to fight it and gain control of my life and I see the only place I can go is up.

So as this year comes to an end, I am thankful for the lessons I have learnt. It might have been gut wrenchingly painful, but the scars will heal in time but it has only made me a stronger and better person. In hindsight I realize, there is always a silver lining in every cloud, there is a light at the end of every tunnel,  it is just a matter of finding that lining and that light.

Right now I see the faint outline of that lining and a flickering light at the end of that tunnel and that to me is reason enough to look forward to what the new year will bring.

So as my year, my soap opera comes to an end, I wish everyone the best for the coming year and may you find your lining in the cloud and light at the end of the tunnel.

10610491_10204755285028751_6827010206529449281_n

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Life, Love, Running, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The year that was

  1. Jim says:

    Wow Tania. Can I share with Mary?

    Like

Leave a Reply

