Turning the page to a better year

It is already the end of the first day of the new year. The first five miles have been run by me, I have made semi-elaborate meals for today, spent time with one of my best friends over coffee, pretty much I am off to a great start to this year.

I had never looked forward to a year ending as much as I did this last year. It was  definitely one with its ups, downs, storms and calms.  Considering all that, I know there is nowhere to go but up this year.

I have already talked about the year that was, the heartbreak, betrayal, the loss of friendship(s),  the highlight was probably the 700 odd miles I ran last year, which included 4 half marathons.  I can’t forget the wonderful new people who have come into my life, the trips I have made and most importantly knowing that no matter what I am a survivor and have the ability to pick up the pieces and move on forward. There is no more dwelling on what was and what could have been.

The farewell to the last day of the year started with a really short day at work and then a 5 mile run in 38 degree temps.  A Pistachio and cardamom cake to make sure I spend some time in the kitchen and an evening spent with a great friend reminiscing about the year that was.

DSC_0024

DSC_0016

Last year, I started this blog as a way to prove to someone how much I love him, it was a place to talk about my feelings and show him how important he was to me. What was I thinking ?  I should have started this for me and not for him. It no longer matters why I started to write, my passion for writing has been re-ignited and for that I am thankful. All I want to take from last year is the positive outcomes I have had due to something negative happening in my life.

I realized the person I gave my heart to, did not deserve it.  But I learnt that I need to trust my gut instincts no matter what, I love running, writing and baking and mostly that there are friends who will stand with you and support you. It has been one hell of a year, but I am ready for what this year will hold.

The sun is shining brightly on the first day of the year, which means there is no excuse for me to not go run.  I want to try to run 1000 miles this year, including a full marathon,  in order to meet that goal, I need to get a head start on those miles.

A couple of pictures from my typical running route.

image

 

image 2

There is no denying my dislike for the cold weather, but this year I am making more of an effort to continue running and not taking my typical hiatus in the winter. The 40 degree temp today is not going to stop me from putting on the running shoes.  Considering that running has become a part of my life, I am beginning to accept or understand that I need to continue to run despite the varying temps.

Of course  I will never learn to love or like the cold weather, but maybe if I continue to make an effort to do it, I will learn how to be indifferent towards it and not think too much about it.

So as this new year starts, I just want to say I am thankful for all the wonderful friends I have, who helped me through a tumultuous time and was there for me every step of the way. I would not be who I am without any of you.

I look forward to this year and wish everyone a healthy, happy, prosperous New Year with a vivacious spirit and positive attitude in the making of some great memories in 2015.

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Friendship, Life, Love, Running, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Turning the page to a better year

  1. Ummesalmah says:

    Your pictures are brilliant! I love the way you have captured the beauty of nature in all of them. I have read most of your blog posts and I love the closure this brings. Every year should end with a realization and it seems 2014 gave you an important one. I hope 2015 is a great year for you. I’m glad I found your blog. You’re an inspirational individual whose writing is quite interesting. I love how you enjoy baking so much. I couldn’t cook an egg for the life of me. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and reading and commenting. 2015 has definitely taken off in a positive manner and I cannot wait to see what more it holds.

      I do love my time in the kitchen cooking/baking, it is my therapy that results in something delicious. I taught myself to cook, so all you need is a good recipe to get you started and you never know you might enjoy it.

      I look forward to reading what unfolds in your life. Good luck and Happy New Year.

      Like

  2. sunflower says:

    Happy New year to you too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rosiepeter33 says:

    Good for you. Keeping up that possitive attitude is a good goal too. Cheers.

    Like

  4. unbelievablyunbounded says:

    Happy happy new year! On to newer and better things! (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

