It’s a ‘meh’ kind of day

It is hard to believe that the first month of this year has come to an end. I have had some meh, hum drum, lethargic, non motivated and lazy days when it comes to running, however for the most part I have managed to stay focused on my goals.

In a little over 2 weeks I have my wonderful adventure planned. I am actually a little concerned, because it has been a few years since I have had a crazy travel adventure on my own. But I am hoping that once airborne, the sense of adventure will kick in and the feeling of  trepidation will disappear.  Sometimes I worry about why I am worried, considering this is something I have done before.

The last few days whenever I try to do research on my destinations, I can’t stop singing ‘Istanbul not Constantinople’, that is because it is one of the places I will be visiting.

Right now, I am working on my résumé, because I want this year to the be the year that I make some big changes to my life. Be it moving across the country, the world or just across town, I want to change my career. Have you tried writing your résumé ? As much as I can sit on here and type my thoughts, ideas, life story, I just can’t seem to figure out how to write my résumé. How do you write a résumé that will include 3 different careers ? Personal Assistant, Journalism and being a baker/chef…. I don’t have a clue !

Downing a cup of coffee definitely did not help me with the writing, so now I stare at my empty coffee cup in my office (aka coffee shop) watching everyone around me pound away on their computers. I thought I had a new place which not only had great coffee but silence allowing me to gather my thoughts. But today it seems everyone who is out here, is on Skype having loud and obnoxious conversations making it almost impossible for me to have a cohesive thought and considering the usual Barista wasn’t here, my coffee wasn’t unto par either. It seems this day is turning out to be one of those days where I should have never left the house.

But the sun is shining and as much as I would like to sit here eavesdropping on the conversations everyone around me is having, maybe its time to put on my running shoes and make this meh kind of day to a better kind of day.

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It’s a ‘meh’ kind of day

  1. I can’t image having to go look for a job these days. Everything is so different because of the computer. My 85 year old mother told me the other day she “wanted me to make my living writing a book”. Hahaha! First of all, I’m retired! Second, I can’t write a book until I learn to write and I might be dead by then. LOL

    Like

    • PJ, I feel like I need to quit my current job to look for a job. I read on-line about words and phrases you have to put in and every site I read tells me different words. No wonder I have been at the same job for way too long. But nothing wrong with sitting down and writing a draft for a book. You do have some interesting stories to tell. There is no learning to write, we all just write differently and you do write well.

      Like

      • I think it is great that you are researching these jobs that you want so you can put in the words they are searching for. I am sure there are also words they are looking for that they won’t tell you about. Please keep that in mind. I certainly wish you the best! I hope you get that dream job you are searching for. Yes, I need to think about writing a draft but first I need to get my thoughts together on it and that is what I am working on now. Gathering thoughts and what all I want to put in it.

        Like

      • Thank you PJ. At this point I will settle for another job, my dream job is just that, a dream job. Writing for a cooking magazine will be my dream job, but there might be too many people ahead of me in line.

        I too have thought about writing a book, so many interesting stories to tell, maybe one day. My blog is a way to keep track of those stories for that book.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Why not use your blog as though it was a cooking magazine and you are writing for the cooking magazine. You never know when you will be discovered. That is the truth. WordPress has written about how many people have been “discovered” through their blog. And, if it doesn’t pan out that you are discovered, your blog could be the best resume and “portfolio” you can have for that dream job.

        Like

  2. livingonchi says:

    Write a few different versions of your resume and then tailor it for each job you apply to in order to emphasize your skills for that job and de-emphasize the things that aren’t important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

