Stay calm and enjoy the cold

I am standing in line at the coffee shop when I over hear a conversation about how we are at the halfway point of winter and Spring. My ears perk up, because I had not even thought about when winter would be over or how long more we have. It seems like it has been cold for way too long and I am ready for these dark dreary days to be over. Bring on the sunshine and warm weather I say.

Well according to the Groundhog Punxsutawney Phil we have six more weeks till Spring, however according to NYC groundhog Chuck, spring is going to be here soon, which one should I go with…well I think I am siding with Staten Island Groundhog Chuck, he seems to have news I can work with. At least this time he can’t be blamed for having been dropped by the mayor and having that affect his weather predicting skills.

But here I am wide awake at 2 am, thinking about the groundhogs.

For starters I am not sure what I was doing in line at a coffee after 2 pm. When will I ever learn not to drink coffee in the afternoon ? Nothing good ever comes out of that. I spend hours laying awake over thinking about over thinking and my mind wandering down so many streets, that even google maps can’t help me out at moments like that.

So as I weasel my way out of the complex streets, I let my mind wonder about food. I want to get out of bed and grab a piece of the cake I know that it sitting in the kitchen…ok never mind, I don’t think eating cake at 2 am is a good idea, next plan is to play with different recipe ideas in my head for things I might want to eventually try…. Thoughts of food is never a good idea, always make me hungry and takes me back to wanting to eat a piece of cake.

DSC_0034

Instead I grab my iPod and play music and if all else fails I know that music has a soothing effect on me and always lulls me to sleep.

The last I remember was “I recall the sun in our faces, Stuck and leaning on braces
And being strangers to change”. 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Life, Love, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stay calm and enjoy the cold

  1. Thank you for your comment and suggestions. I always plan on sharing recipes, but eventually I tweak everything so much, that I lose track of what I have done. I am trying to make more of an effort to be better and taking notes of things I make and writing them down. But I think what you suggest is great. I will have to pick a day that will be when I share a recipe and another day to share a song I may like or have heard. But I love that idea. Thank you again for reading and for the positive feedback and suggestions.

    Like

  2. I also have a very difficult time enjoying a full nights sleep. This is disconcerting as I read everyplace how important rest is for your overall health. I do get up and read for a bit if I can’t sleep and that helps.
    You asked for feedback on your blog post so I will try. I am not an expert so this is just a regular person here, keep that in mind please.
    I liked your descriptions, I could picture the stories as I read them. I felt like I knew what you were talking about.
    I’m wondering if perhaps folks would enjoy reading a blog post that has a focus on running, then the next time music, and then perhaps a recipe and some cooking stories etc.. That way you could still talk about your passions but they posts would feel more cohesive. You might also pick up various types of readers through the tags you use for each posts. When I did my Monday Menus from Maine page I got a lot of hits from folks I had never heard of before, and not part of this challenge.
    I wish you well and will try to keep up with your progress. I’m at http://www.soulstoriesbycarol.wordpress.com and would appreciate any and all feedback!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lately I too have been getting up in the middle of the night and getting on the internet until I get sleepy again and go back to bed. What’s up with that anyway? I have been wondering what the ground hog had predicted. I think I will go with Chuck too because I cannot bear the thought of 6 more weeks of winter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment