Snowed under by cookies

Right now I should be singing, all my bags are packed I’m ready to go, standing here outside your door, hate to wake you up to say goodbye John Denver”. But instead I am singing ‘Let me down easy, since you feel that staying is wrong – Paulo Nutuni’ which is playing as I bake batch after batch of cookies.

How I heard about the song and why I like it is another story for another post. But back to today.

I have less than 48 hours before I take off on my vacation and lo and behold, we had a snow storm, which meant a snow day at home.  All that snow is not going to get me down. Being stuck inside the house, in hindsight is a good thing at this point, considering I am really not ready for this trip. Let me rephrase that, my mind, my spirit is ready and screaming vacation, but my bags lay empty and unpacked.

When I stepped outside this morning to walk around in the snow and take some pictures, I wanted to head out to the coffee shop, however, I could not get my car to move and did not want to walk the few blocks. Therefore I headed back inside where I found a can of ice coffee. A few minutes later, it felt like a button had been switched on and I was in the kitchen, baking trays strewn all over the counter, sifting and stirring and rolling cookie dough.

DSC_0010

Instead of doing any of that,  I should and could be packing, but I had this crazy notion of baking different types of cookies. To be honest I am not even the cookie eating kind of person. Whenever I want to bake something for friends and they tell me to make them cookies, I am aghast at their request, because considering all the fancy (at least I think they are fancy) stuff I bake, why would anyone want a simple old cookie from me, it definitely does baffle me.

But people want what they want and like what they like, who am I to begrudge them what they would like to eat, even if I am the one who is making it. So here I am in the kitchen baking cookies. They might want some ordinary chocolate chip cookie, but considering I am making cookies, I am going to figure out a way to make it different.

So I started off with Pistachio & cardamom cookies. Unfortunately for me, I want the cookies to be the same size, so instead of just rolling them out, I would weigh each cookie. Which results in way too much time being spent on it.

DSC_0016

DSC_0044

Considering I was not too happy with the outcome, I started the next cookie. I rummaged around in my baking stash and took the marzipan and ground almonds  I had and started making an Almond cookie.

Almond Cookie

Almond Cookie

I am by far no cookie expert, therefore, I seem to be never happy with the outcome of it and constantly striving for this perfect cookie which seems to evade me. So I decide I am going to attempt a different type this time around. I go back grab more almonds and pick the mathca green tea powder I have in hand and start the next round of cookies.

Green Tea and Almond Cookies

Green Tea and Almond Cookies

One batch bakes while the other rests in the fridge, however, I take no rest and start cleaning and picking up after myself. Typically a snow day would be when people seem to want to make some comfort food and watch endless reruns on their favorite TV show or just watch movies, but here I am churning out cookies and feeling snowed in by cookies.

So would anybody like a cookie ?

DSC_0071

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Friendship, Life, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Snowed under by cookies

  1. I almost forgot! Enjoy your vacation and don’t give the rest of us that are freezing in harsh winter conditions another thought. (hahaha)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm green cookies. I have never heard of green tea cookies. They all sound delicious but I would have to try the green one first before I say if it is delicious or not. LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. JMD398 says:

    You have successfully given me a sweet tooth. Loved the photos all except the snow. I see that picture and I immediately think of cleaning it up. Like I had to do this morning before I went to work. Love to see it fall but hate to clean it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pattyalcala says:

    they look delicious. Hope you get your vacation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

