A view of Istanbul through my lens

The cold air hits me the minute I step out of the plane in Istanbul. I probably feel more cold considering the weather in Spain was warm and perfect. I grab my bags and head outside to catch a taxi to the hotel. The taxi driver speaks no English, but eventually calls the hotel to get directions or so I think. We continue driving through narrow busy roads of Istanbul. From time to time he makes random phone calls and my heart keeps beating faster the further we seem to be leaving the city behind. 

The taxi comes to a screeching halt and we sit idly in it, he starts talking in Turkish and I talk in English, making for a very entertaining conversation. A few minutes later someone else gets into the taxi and now I am about to have a panic attack, wondering what was gonna happen next.

Maybe I could trade some Spanish wine and cheese and 5 pairs of running shoes for my life or maybe I could just jump out now and start running.   Running away is not an option since I do want all my wine and cheese and souvenirs.  Just maybe I could stay for the ride and hope I get to my destination or maybe I need to calm the fuck down and stop being paranoid. 

Considering I am writing this post, it is safe to say I made it to my hotel and all was well in the world or at least in my world.

Istanbul was different from what I expected. I thought I was going to be inconspicuous and be able to explore without guides and touts trying to get to me. However, the most bizarre part for me was being asked by every person if I was American. I typically get asked if I am Indian (which I am not), but this was very confusing. Apparently the give away was my attire. Who knew jeans and t-shirt screams American !

I am used to traveling and exploring on my own, however, here it seemed out of the norm to be on my own.  Despite all the touts, the haggling and every person trying to sell me a carpet, (none were flying carpets) they were friendly and sometimes a bit too friendly.  Everytime I stepped into a store they wanted to offer me Turkish tea or coffee. I am no tea or coffee drinker, but I would accept it and hope that I wasn’t going to be drugged and dragged away for a ransom.

Oh well that all comes with my wild imagination, but I knew if they were to kidnap me, they would probably offer me a ransom to go away.

At one point I was lost and going in circles. Yes I am one of those people who could look at a map and still be lost. I end up talking to a tourist police officer who ends up walking me  in the right direction of my hotel and then offers to show me around the next day.

I meet him and he shows me around Istanbul and taking me for lunch and dinner to places I would have never ventured into on my own. We have lunch on a boat that apparently goes out and catches the fish and after that it becomes a floating restaurant. While I was constantly questioning his hospitality in my head, he said that talking to me was his way to improve his English. What a win-win situation, he improves his English and I have a first hand experience of Istanbul through him.

No matter how hard I try, putting my experience into words is impossible, so here are some pictures through my camera lens.

Ps : Please click on the picture for the slideshow.

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A view of Istanbul through my lens

  1. You just made my desire to go here so much stronger! Also thank you for traveling there alone, because so often people stray from solo female travel. Glad you had safe travels and a wonderful trip!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

