There is something about that alone time

I recently read that people who have a love for themselves have an easier time spending time alone. I must really love myself, because I love my alone time. This is not something new, I was always that person. I could bury my nose in a book or computer or explore and stroll around without wanting company.

Most people don’t understand how I could enjoy spending time by myself.  I could go to work later in the day, I am the first to get there, because I like that time on my own, trying to plan my day, while listening to public radio without making any small talk.  My ex boy friend who I lived with for years never understood why I would get excited about being home alone. I loved all the things we did together, the overseas travel, the bike rides, the spontaneous weekend getaways, but there was something about having that time to myself.

Just knowing that my weekends will soon be taken over by baking for the farmers market and little time I have will be spent training or running a race somewhere, I just want to indulge myself with some photography and exploring the surrounding areas.

I grab my camera and head out to Smithfield, which is 25 mile drive from me. My previous trips down there has been with friends to visit the farmers market, but today I want to go take some photographs and wonder the streets on my own.

Here are some of the pictures I captured during my walk.

DSC_0116 DSC_0008 DSC_0019 DSC_0020 DSC_0023 DSC_0034 DSC_0071 DSC_0014 IMG_5580 DSC_0086

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Friendship, Life, Love, Photography, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There is something about that alone time

  1. amaya911 says:

    Beautiful! I love this post and your pirctures! Thank you for sharing it with me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What wonderful photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gynellie401 says:

    I enjoyed your photos and can definitely relate to you. I love my alone time as well. There is nothing like being able to think about whatever you want for however long you want. No worrying about keeping someone else entertained.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for stopping by. It is indeed nice to have that quiet time to reflect and ponder and not worry about keeping up with someone else or have someone keep up with you. Its me time. Thank you again and glad you enjoyed the photos.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. livingonchi says:

    Absolutely gorgeous pictures, my fellow introvert!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

