Is social media making us narcissistic ?

Like everyone else, ok well almost everyone I use social media to keep in touch with friends, however, I don’t tend to post my every move on it and don’t use it as a way to seek confirmation about myself. It is mostly used to post photographs I take and a method to keep in touch with friends and family across the globe.

I have friends who seem to use it as a way to showcase their narcissistic behavior or maybe it could be called self-absorbed behavior and a way to constantly seek attention or likes from everyone around them. I admit we all probably want to be told how great we look or how the food item we cook/bake looks absolutely delicious. I admit, in the past, I have posted pictures of food I made, but never posted pictures of myself on a regular basis.  I think of it more as a place to showcase or some may say show off my cooking skills, but I realize no one or at least almost no one cares about my cooking skills and what I had for dinner.

Going back to my friend(s), she posts pictures of her painted nails, her latest hair cut or her red streak on her hair, where she ate, what she is thinking, how great her life is, etc. Some reading this may assume or think that I maybe jealous of this wonderful life my friend has, which is far from the truth.

I am not saying my friend is the only person guilty of this behavior, there are so many who use social media to constantly update every little thing in their life and somehow find great satisfaction in airing their every move for all to see. For the most part I have noticed that people who go the extra length of showing this great life are those who seem to be somehow trying to compensate for something that they seem to be lacking in their life.

While I understand people might want to share a picture of themselves from time to time with friends, but a picture every time you step out of the house is what I chalk to narcissistic, self absorbed behavior or so I think.

Has all these social media sites taken over our lives to the extent that we tend to exaggerate on our so-called wonderful lives in order to show those around us how great our life is? Why have we become those people who have no sense of privacy of our lives and think it is normal to share our every thought that passes. Maybe my writing this post is my narcissistic behavior,  or maybe it’s a complaint about society, and what we’ve become as humans.

In the past I have tried to deactivate my social media presence, but it is like a drug that you cannot get over, so while I rant and rave about having to read narcissistic posts on there, I take responsibility by being one of the people who probably contributes towards the narcissistic behavior of everyone.

I sit here pondering on this question, have sites like Facebook, twitter, instagram taken away from us the little privacy we had and turned us into people who have this dire need to constantly seek confirmation or gratification from those around us.  Has social  media made us narcissistic or are we so self-absorbed that we refuse to see that it has taken over our lives ?

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Life, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is social media making us narcissistic ?

  1. I think we all have friends like you describe. I find it annoying and trivial, I don’t care what someone is having for dinner unless I’m invited or that they are at the mall. I was sitting in Starbucks the other day when the woman at the next table took a selfie with her phone and then with her tablet. I shook my head laughing at the thought of a trip to Starbucks being noteworthy. I am especially annoyed by the posting of pictures that are out of focus and those that are not flattering when people like and comment “You look beautiful.” There’s a part of me that wants to comment “your friends are not telling the truth you look horrible in that picture; you should take it down.” But then I remember I was raised better than that and taught if I had nothing nice to say then I should say nothing at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love how you think, because I am the same and want to tell people that they do look terrible and that somehow pouting their lips didn’t make them look better. Some people forget it should be 2 lines and not a chapter on how their day was….. I wish I could delete my account and not read it, but somehow it’s like a bad soap opera you want to continue to watch.

      Like

Leave a Reply

