Shorters days and longer nights

The smell of pastries floats through my apartment while the fan whirs and the music softly plays in the distance breaking the silence of the morning. I love the quiet Saturday morning that I get to spend at my computer pecking at the keyboard while the baking continues. It seems recently trying to find some quiet time on my own has been harder to do.

Summer seems to be that time that I find myself constantly busy. I hate to be indoors on warm summer days. I want to enjoy all the hot warm weather I can get. Even if I am home, I keep the door and windows open just  because no matter how much I try, I can’t wipe off thought in my head is that days are getting shorter and nights are getting longer, which means cold weather will be here before I know it.

I know I should not be all doom and gloom thinking about what will be, but considering how much I dislike cold weather, I cannot stop thinking about it. Even when I enter the grocery store and the cold air blows in my face, it reminds me of winter.

There is so much to do during summer days, concerts in the park, festivals to go, running for miles, riding my bike, dinner with my friends, that I am constantly out and about with my friends and never really seem to have much alone time.

Unfortunately I am one who needs alone time, lack of it makes me cranky and irritable and hard to be around. I need the quiet solitude from time to time to function better with others around.  Some solitude does wonders for my soul.

The last few days the lingering thought in my head has been to play hookie from work, grab a book, spread a blanket, sit under a tree and read a book and enjoy the quiet around me or sit at my favorite coffee shop writing, reading or people watching.

So far the only alone time I seem to be getting is when I am off running for miles, but for some reason the last few weeks even running has not helped in my search for solitude. It maybe that everyone is walking around enjoying summer and that does not make me feel alone or maybe because I seem to get accosted by strangers trying to have random conversations with me. I stop for a brief minutes and then I continue to keep chugging along, just thinking of that full marathon I will be running this fall.

Just maybe one day soon I will play hookie from work, grab that blanket and book and go looking for my solitude. Till then I will sit here in silence, enjoying the smell of pastries emanating in my apartment and forget about the days getting shorter and nights getting longer.

IMG_5696

image1 2

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Friendship, Life, Love, Photography, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shorters days and longer nights

  1. Yum! The pastries sure look good! What are they?? Yes, the days are getting shorter and the nights longer. I don’t like cold weather either so I am not looking forward to winter. We have had a mild summer and I have enjoyed it. I hope you can find your much needed solitude soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Joy. The half circle pastry has sautéed mushrooms and leeks in it and the other has spinach, feta and ricotta cheese. My latest addition is a cheesy Kale, which has kale, cream cheese and cheddar cheese.
      When I’m in the grocery store and it’s cold inside, it feels like cold weather is taunting me. Let’s hope for a long fall and mild winter. Thank you for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

