I dream of vacations

It’s 5.30 am on Saturday morning and I am as usual sitting at my computer while the things bake for the farmers market. As much as I love going to the farmers market, I am going to enjoy 2 weeks away from it.

Two weeks of not waking up to an alarm, 2 weeks of not worrying about what I should make, 2 weeks of not rushing from work to the grocery and back home to start baking, 2 glorious weeks of not having to worry about anything, 2 weeks of pretending that everything is ok and most importantly 2 weeks of spending time with my family and friends.

Having said that most often I need a vacation to get over the vacation. I typically go to see my friends and family for a month in the winter, however, this one is going to be 2 short weeks to see everyone. I consider myself a none planner…shh lets not ask my boy friend about that. He hates my planning and somehow has stopped listening to me after my 10 minute rant of where we are going and what we are doing.

My being a planner or none-planner is up for debate.

I generally show up there, call my friends and start making plans, however, for once I have already sent messages to everyone and made tentative dates to meet for lunch or dinner. Unfortunately meeting friends there typically involves food and that is never a good thing for me. I am not a health fanatic who watches what I eat, but for the most part I try to eat healthy, but all thoughts of healthy food fly out of the window the minute I land there and start stuffing my face with things I long for and can never get back in the US.

I constantly justify my eating by claiming that I run miles and miles almost everyday or ride my bike everyday. This trip will probably rate high on the indulgence scale because I will tell myself that I am after all training to a run full marathon this fall. (well if you can call what I do training).

But before I can plan my vacation and dream of 2 weeks of doing nothing, I have to finish baking for the market and then go run 13.1 miles for the half marathon I am running. I never understand why I try to do too much, but now I have no time to even think of that. At the time I signed up for the run, everything seemed possible, I was ready to conquer the world, but today as I sit here thinking about the long list of things that need to get done before I leave for 2 weeks, running 13.1 miles should have not been on my list.

However, I have an emotional connection to this particular race, which is what makes me keep going back to it. It was the first race I ever did and as much as it should not, it reminds me of someone I once loved and that he did run 13.1 miles with me and celebrated crossing that finish line of my first half marathon. It seems silly to want to run for those reasons, but it keeps memories alive and reminds me of why I run.

For now its back to reality,  the pastries are baked and its time to walk out that door and tick off one more thing off my list before I take off that 2 week vacation.

DSC_0044

Lemon Raspberry Bar

Lemon Raspberry Bar

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Family, Food/Baking, Life, Love, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I dream of vacations

  1. yhealthy2000 says:

    It’s a great post. You are juggling several activities with emotions playing their part…that is quite a bit. All the best to you…you can definitely do it! You are a doer, that is what I understand from your post, even if you say you are not a good planner. Most of all HAVE FUN. Life is short!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Sometimes I feel I am a glutton for punishment trying to do too much, but if I am constantly not doing something I feel guilty. Now it’s time to pack and head home to see my parents and let’s not forget the long flight which will force me to relax. Thank you again.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

