I want to know if love is like Oxygen

This morning I had a plan, work, long run and maybe some writing. But instead I am stuck in my car watching the rain beat against my windshield, washing away my plans one raindrop at a time. I had this dire need to run today. I wanted to run so I could stop thinking about my trip and all the pros and cons about moving back.

I stare aimlessly at the row of lights ahead of me, letting my mind drift to what sits heavy in my heart now. Should I move back and be a support system to my sister who is responsible for taking care of my parents or should I continue to live my life and do the best I can from a distance. If I chose the latter, does it make me a selfish sibling and child ?Most often I wish that answers to my questions were written on stone and not on sand.

I do have a tendency to play devils advocate on my own, just when my mind was going back and forth, I hear the song “I Want to know what love is”.   It has been years since I have heard this song and to get my mind onto something different, I chose to listen more carefully to the song and I think yes I would like to know what love is too.

Of course we all know the poem, love is kind, love is patient, love never fails and well you know the rest of that… but is that really love ?

Maybe I am so jaded by love that sometimes I forget what love is. There have been times that I have thought that I was in love and that I was loved but that love somehow turned out to be jealous, insecure and hurtful. So if love is all the things that the poem claims, how come every time I love, I find that it ends up with me being hurt ? No where in the poem does it say love hurts. But then again maybe the band Nazareth got it right when they crooned,  “Love Hurts, love scars, love wounds, love marks…………Love is like a cloud holds a lot of rain”.

There is no particular reason for me to be so melodramatic about love right now, I blame it on the endless rain. Rain makes me pensive and sitting in traffic staring at the windshield wipers go swish back and forth makes me even more thoughtful.

So while I sit here let me go back to what Foreigner says “I want to know what love is?” or should I just agree with Nazareth that “Love Hurts”.

Maybe my last breakup was so bad that I tend to lean towards what Nazareth says and agree with the lyrics “I really learned a lot , really learned a lot, love is like a flame, it burns you when it’s hot”.  

Just maybe I could think of “Love is like Oxygen, you get too much and you get too high, not enough and you’re gonna die, love gets you high, love is like oxygen

Despite whether love hurts or whether love is loyal, faithful, I learnt that I love to write and that may not be the love Foreigner is talking about, but that is still love and the love I have for writing is definitely most often my Oxygen.

Why is it so hard  to articulate love,
yet so easy to express disappointment ?

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I want to know if love is like Oxygen

  1. Yes I agree love is patient and kind or it should be! nice post

    Liked by 1 person

  2. embroideredtreasures says:

    I still agree with the poem …love is patient love is kind. I’m not going to lie sometimes love does hurt –true love does exist and you will find yours!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The love definitely got it right, but I suppose I am so jaded that I have my moments of questioning it. Right now there is that special someone in my life, hopefully he will show me that the poem is right and love does not always hurt.

      Like

  3. Tony R says:

    The love that everyone seems to be singing about is the love that is treated like a drug. It promises all sorts of things that it cannot deliver. There is only one that ever lived that could deliver what love promises and his name is Jesus. Not to force that in anyone’s face. Just what I believe. I think that you have to know the author of love in order to know what true love is.
    Wishing you a blessed one 🙂
    Tony R

    Like

  4. yhealthy2000 says:

    Wherever you choose to make a life here or there…wish you peace and happiness. And, wish you find true love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

