Rainy Days and weekends

On a typical Friday evening you will find me in the kitchen rolling sheets of pastry and baking for the farmers market while a glass of wine sits on the counter and the music plays in the background. However, this Friday, I stand by my window watching the trees swaying to the crazy wind and the rain coming down and flooding the street. This is all because Joaquin is heading this way and I don’t mean the actor.

So instead of doing my typical routine this weekend, it became an opportunity for my boy friend and I to have a weekend of catching up. My two weeks away visiting my family and his week away visiting a friend meant we have not had a chance to spend some time and this seemed like a good time as any.

In anticipation of the weekend of being stuck indoors because of Joaquin, I stocked my kitchen with all the things I would want to cook and eat.  As much as I love spending time in the kitchen cooking or baking on my own, there are times I enjoy having a special someone in the kitchen with me. There is something about cooking together.

Of course before we head to the kitchen, he reminds me, that he is not one of my co-workers therefore I should not boss him around the kitchen. I don’t blame him for saying that, I am known to get a bit OCD when in a kitchen and can never take a back seat. If I am asked to watch something on the stove, you will find me adding spices and stirring and changing things. There are times my ex has threatened to lock me out of the kitchen while he cooks, because I am a terrible sous chef. When it comes to being in a kitchen I have a tough time of letting go of the reigns and taking a back seat.

But this Friday I managed to control my OCD and let him help me with the cooking, while sharing a cocktail and sharing stories.

Friday night dinner

Friday night dinner

The rain continues over the weekend and so did my cooking. Even though the rain was supposed to continue on Saturday, I woke up to the sun shining through my window. It would have been a great day to put on my running shoes and go for a long run, but running was the furthest thing from my mind after a night of cocktails.

Saturday night dinner I decided to make something typically Sri Lankan. It is called Hoppers (it is similar to a pancake batter but made in a wok shaped pan). One might wonder why I would want to indulge in Sri Lankan food considering I just got back from there, but this was for my boy friend and to share something from my trip with him.

Saturday night dinner

Saturday night dinner

Joaquin may have ruined some of my weekend plans of baking and going to the farmers market, but it gave me an opportunity to forget about every thought that’s going through my head.

As I have mentioned in my earlier posts, I am debating about moving back home to spend some quality time with my parents. However, this evening of just cooking, having a cocktail and laughing about the most random things made me for a moment forget about moving, my parents or the full marathon that I am running that I have not been training for.

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Food/Baking, Life, Love, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainy Days and weekends

  1. embroideredtreasures says:

    Sounds like you had a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

