Sometimes all you need is words of encouragement

Sometimes in life all we need is words of support and encouragement from family and friends to achieve goals or at least make attempts to achieve it. I am no different, I like the notion of thinking that my friends stand behind me and support me, even as I chase a crazy dream.

It is all these words of support and encouragement that is helping me stay focussed as I stress and worry over running, walking, crawling or maybe being dragged over the finish line of my marathon.

A few days ago, I was once again questioning my ability and contemplating changing from a full marathon to a half marathon, when a friend sent me this text “You have determination and that is one of the things I adore about you”. Just knowing that I have friends and family who believe in me, gives me a boost and the morale I needed to say yes I can do this.

Another friend reminded me that I had the same fear and despair when I was training for my first half-marathon and that I eventually enjoyed it so much that I went on to run a dozen more half marathons. I had to remind her that someone I loved ran that first half marathon with me giving me the added support and encouragement I needed to cross that finish line.

However, maybe they all have a point in what they are saying. But this is the first time that I have worried so much about completing something. This all might be because I am a bad loser. Not really a bad loser, but more a person who likes to achieve certain goals I set for myself. I wish I was trying to achieve my goal of starting a coffee shop and not obsessing over a goal of finishing a marathon, but yet it is a goal.

With all these thoughts swirling in my head, I set off on a cool crisp evening for the long last run before my race. The streets lined with fallen leaves, the barren trees remind me that fall is here. As much as I enjoy the changing leaves of color and the cooler temps, it also reminds me that winter will be here soon, which makes me not want to enjoy fall as much as I should.

I continue to run for hours, letting my mind and body adjust to long hours of running. The question I kept asking myself the entire time was how fast should I run or maybe how fast could I run. There is 7 hour cut off time limit, so in my already exhausted mind I try to calculate what my pace should be in order not to be the last person across that finish line. Right now, just the thoughts of running 7 hours leaves me exhausted.

Three hours and 17 miles later, as much as I wanted to continue, darkness begins to set in, making me want to abandon my 20 mile run and head home to relax my sore muscles.

I was hoping I would have outrun my anxiety for this race, but 17 miles later, I still have the same feelings of trepidation.

But as my running friend said to me “You can do this ! Just put one foot in front of the other, that is the only thing you need to do, just remember that when it gets tough”.

So with all the words of support and encouragement I have, there is definitely no turning back now. So as I pound one mile after the other, I have no doubt, the words of my friends would be ringing in my ear.

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Life, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sometimes all you need is words of encouragement

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    Thanks for reminding us that a little encouragement goes a long way….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Juni Desireé says:

    Encouragement is definitely important. It can change beahviour/perspective in an instant. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. yhealthy2000 says:

    You can do it! Mind over muscle! You already have what it takes…mind, muscle, stamina and determination. You go girl! Yaz.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim says:

    This friend in San Diego is behind you and believes in you. Jim

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

