Learning to let go

The last few days have felt like spring is in the air. The nearly 70 degree temps in the middle of winter was a welcome change for me. It gave me an opportunity to go put some miles on my running shoes and enjoy the warm weather while I can.

Running gives me the opportunity to clear my head and get most of my thinking done or as some would say over thinking. Sometimes it is a way to get my aggravation and frustration out as well.

If you read my previous post (click here) you would know I have been debating about writing an email to my friend of the said post. I have been for days trying to find the right words to say what I have to say without being mean or hurtful.

However, I sit staring  at the blank screen for minutes unable to find the right words. In order to distract myself I started to browse Facebook only to see that she posted on her page something which was aimed at me. After having read her remarks, I decided against writing to her. I felt someone who could make disparaging remarks about me, did not deserve an explanation as to why I am upset. The thought that a friendship which spanned over a 2 decades was coming to an abrupt end bothered me and mostly the fact that she chose a public venue such as Facebook to make snide comments, really hurt me.

As tempted as I was to respond or post some comments, I chose the high road of silence. I refuse to be a drama queen or go down to the level of posting my private thoughts on Facebook.

“Sometimes My Greatest Accomplishment is just keeping my mouth shut.”

After having read per posts, I could no longer sit at home.  Therefore, I was glad for the spring day that would let me go run for miles and clear my mind.

I ran through the streets of my neighborhood, trying not to think of my friend or why she would do what she did.  Even though it hurt me, it made me realize that I should be thankful for the friendships I have and for all those who support and encourage me and know that friendship is a two way street.

It also helped me come to terms with the fact that friendships don’t necessarily last forever. People grow apart and change and want different things and it is ok to let go and move on.

The 8 mile run left me exhausted, but in a better mood.  It was time to celebrate some of the friendships I have and cherish. So as usual I headed to the kitchen and baked a chocolate cake to share with a few friends as a token of my appreciation for their friendships.

As sad and disappointing as it maybe, sometimes you have to learn to leave the old behind and embrace the new. My friend and I go back in time and we had lots of great memories together, which I will always cherish. But for now I will hold on to those memories and move forward.

DSC_0026

Chocolate Cake

DSC_0024

 

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Life, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Learning to let go

  1. Seems very immature of her to take it to Facebook. Honestly, that sounds like something a 14 year old would do. I’m glad you took the higher road (more mature) way and that you are celebrating the friends that you do have and who you cherish and who cherish you. Life is too short to not celebrate all the wonderful things that are in our lives. Which is exactly what you did. That cake looks so delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann Coleman says:

    I’m so sorry she chose to end your relationship in such a hurtful way! Sometimes it’s very hard to understand why people make the choices they make. But you followed your own conscience and all we can ever control is our own behavior. You’re right: Friendships don’t always last, but it is still hard when they end painfully rather than just slowly fading away. Hang in there!

    Like

    • Thank you Ann. It is sad and disappointing how everything happened but what is sadder is that I’m relieved that it’s over and I don’t have to listen to her tell me how wrong everything I do is. On the positive side I’m glad I have other friends who have stood the test of time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

