Love is in the air

It is two days,  one day,  few hours to Valentine’s Day. It is almost impossible to step out of the house and not run into  couples strolling hand in hand, clinging to the over priced roses and chocolates. During a trip to the store, the flowers and card section and the chocolate aisle was filled  mostly guys who had ventured out of their houses for last minute shopping to make their loved ones happy. I stood around watching them shift from one foot to the other, reading card after card, before they would pick a card, breathe of a sigh of relief and walk over to the chocolate aisle. I walked away smiling, feeling relieved that I was not a subscriber to this holiday and did not have to be one squinting over cards.

There used to be a time I would have been envious of all these couples and wish I was at the receiving end of the flowers and chocolates. But not anymore ! I refuse to be participant in this hallmark holiday. It is not because I am disgruntled with love, but because I believe that someone who loves me has so many other ways to prove his love besides buying me flowers or chocolates.

Of course when I was younger, like almost every other person in love, I spent money on cards and gifts and waited impatiently for the flowers and the candlelit dinner.  But now I would rather have him cook me dinner at home, do the dishes and watch a movie with me. Maybe I am getting old and common sense is kicking into me or just maybe I want to rebel against this hallmark holiday.

There is no denying that love is a wonderful feeling. Like the song goes “Love is a wonderful thing, make ya smile through the pouring rain- Michael Bolton”.

I have loved, lost, loved and lost a few times, but I always pick myself up and love again. Maybe I am a sucker for love, but I don’t think I will have it any other way. This blog was started when my heart was broken into a million pieces. Putting those pieces together took me a long time. Despite the heartbreak, I am glad that I had the opportunity to know him,  love him and be loved by him.

Here I am almost 2 years later, loving someone again. Will it end in heartbreak ? I don’t know, there is never a guarantee to anything, but if I don’t take the risk and love, I will never know either.

I have not ventured out to buy him a card, chocolates or a gift and I am not going to be disappointed if I don’t get any either. As someone once told “I don’t love you more on Valentine’s Day, I love you everyday”. These words ring in my ear every single year on Valentine’s Day. On this day I will celebrate all those I love and will think of those I loved and lost, because no matter what, they had my love and have contributed to who I am today and that is not easily forgotten.

Considering that the music industry might be almost nonexistent if there  was no love and heartbreak, here are some of my favorite songs. (Most songs which helped me during my breakup)

 

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Love is in the air

  1. Elissa says:

    Yes, please Lord, send me a man who does dishes! Amen. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is nice that the simple things make you happy! xxx

    Like

  3. I’ll come back and listen to the songs when I have more time. I think wanting your love to cook you dinner, do the dishes and watch a movie with you is very mature. As we get older (and wiser), we realize what is really important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

