Some scars never heal

A wish from wordpress on 2 years of blogging forced me to go back in time and read some of my old posts. I can’t believe that it has already been 2 years and I am for the most part trying to continue writing on here.

I started this blog on a whim to show an ex boy friend how much he meant to me. Did it work? Obviously not, considering he is still an ex!

While sitting here to write this post,  my mind gets flooded with an overwhelming surge of emotions.  I dislike the feeling of having no control over my spiraling thoughts.

Right now I am unsure if the emotions are just me going back in time or the fact that the last few weeks have been stressful. There are moments that I feel like I am drowning and unable to come up for breath.  This is probably because I am an over-thinker.

Trying to decide where to go and what to do overwhelms me. I want to stop thinking of it for a brief moment. Life seems to be forcing me to make a change and I keep trying to fight it all the time. I have 2 months before I make that final decision. So right now instead of worrying about what will be, let me go back in time to what was.

There he was this stranger sitting across from me at a Restaurant. I felt his eyes on me and  whenever our eyes met, I felt my face flush and then on, I made every effort to avoid eye contact. I kept on eating, because I hated to find myself so drawn to someone I did not know.

However, my friend kept chatting with him and forcing me into the conversation. We eventually made small talk, which included me talking about running a half marathon and he agreeing to run it with me. We exchanged emails, texts and met for coffee and talked for hours on end. I was trying hard to fight the emotions I was feeling, I did not want to fall in love and get my heart-broken, but staying away seemed much harder.

It was a constant battle of trying to decide if I should save myself the heartbreak and walk away. There were times I did walk away because I was so scared of the pain I would feel when he went away. But the void I felt the minute I walked away was more painful. Even thought my gut feeling kept telling me to stay away, I was like an addict who could not stay away.

Weeks turned into months and despite all the ups and downs of trying to find balance, I found myself in sync with someone and never wanted it to end. I felt I had found happiness that had been missing in my life. Alas, fate intervened ensuring that it did not last. But as they all good things come to an end.

Despite all the time that has gone by and that thoughts and memories are gradually fading,  part of me still hurts. I have learnt in order to move on, I had to find ways to forgive him and myself. It would be easy to blame everything on him, but I have learnt that I played a role in having my heart-broken and need to take resposnibility for it.

Life has now taken us in different directions never to cross paths again, yet there is a part of me that yearns for what we shared. During this time I found writing and running which helped me maintain my sanity.

As time goes on wounds heal, but the scar lingers and this might be one scar that will always stay with me.

 

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some scars never heal

  1. It is so sad to be so in love with someone and the relationship doesn’t last. It’s like having your heart ripped out of your chest. I truly hope that the right man will come into your life and fill that void and you won’t feel the pain of loss anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

