Sometimes it is the little things that make a big difference

My footsteps echo in the hall of my empty apartment, making me excited and sad at the same time. It is finally here. I have a little over 24 hours to turn the key on that door and walk away for one last time. The emotional roller coaster is finally coming to a stop and I am beyond words at this time to say how elated I feel about it.

All the nostalgia and reminiscing and emotions I was feeling was exhausting me. I am now ready to leave it all behind and start the next adventure whatever that maybe.

It is 82 degrees this Friday morning, the sun is shining so brightly and I have the day off to finish cleaning, but before I can get down to scrubbing and cleaning, I decide to start my day off with a long run. I want to run the cobblestone streets, enjoy the wall murals, the sun shimmering in the water one last time.

The hot humid air blows in my face and the sweat pours down while I pound the sidewalks. Even though I have the music playing as usual, I pay no attention, while I tick off things that need to be done in the next day. Cancel utility bills, forward mail… I think of the lists that are stuck on my front door that needs to be checked off.

A few months or even weeks ago I was falling apart trying to figure out how I was gonna get this done, but I have come to realize that most often in my hour need someone is there is help me out.

This story I will share has restored my diminishing faith in people and also how things do have the strangest way of happening.

When I initially started my moving process I was gonna donate all my furniture to the thrift store, however, on a whim one day I decided to post some of the stuff on-line to sell. Someone contacts me wanting to purchase my TV, he shows up on a bicycle and of course since he cannot take it on his bike, I offer to drop it off for him and then give him a few other things that he was admiring though he said he had no money to pay for it.

Anyway, it turns out I had forgotten to give him the remote to the TV, so a few days later I take it over for him and we get talking and he says since I have given him so much of things for free if I need any help to please ask him. So I say that I might need help when I move a couple of things.

To cut a long story short, he has shown up almost everyday and helped me clean the apartment throughly. My friends were all very suspicious about his motives and kept telling me to be aware, but to their and my absolute surprise he has been one of the nicest people I have ever met. This is one more instance when I have learnt that I need to trust my gut feelings about things and people.

Even when I have been exhausted from a long day of work and don’t have the energy to get anything done, he shows up, insists that I relax and does some cleaning to help me out.

Where this post is going is beyond me at this point, besides trying to point out that how things work out in the strangest way. The relief I feel knowing that someone has helped me so much is beyond words. There is no monetary value I can put on his assistance or the fact that I have realized there are some really nice people out there and he has helped restore my faith in people.

So while I sit here typing this post from my favorite corner of the coffee shop watching the people go by, I just feel thankful for the little things and I am counting down the hours to lock that door and walk away from the place I called home for the last 4 years.

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sometimes it is the little things that make a big difference

  1. How wonderful! By now you have moved out and have started your new exciting life! I think it is wonderful that this man befriended you and helped you so much! Just wonderful!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

