It’s the company and not the destination

Some say it’s the journey and not the destination, I say it’s the company and not the destination, that makes the journey more interesting.

I recently made a trip to Malaysia with my cousin. It probably is the first time that she and I have had a vacation together. It was an opportunity spend quality time catching up on our lives and deepen the bond we share.

We spent our 5 days exploring a little of Malaysia mostly the food and making some new friends.

A few hours after we landed we took a 5 hour bus ride to Penang. During which we time we were entertained by this little boy.

IMG_0440.jpg

Once in Penang, we walked the streets, exploring the art district and the streets which were lined up with food vendors. Despite our best effort to not overeat, its pretty hard to resist when different smells keep wafting the air.

img_0735

Things people do for a picture – Art Street in Penang

img_0733

One of the street food vendors we ate from

img_0587

He watches the shore disappear, Penang Ferry

img_0585

img_0582img_0502

 

img_0490

Art district, Penang

At the end of the 2 days there, we took a ferry and bus a back to Kuala Lumpur, where we made friends with an Australian, German, Vietnamese, and a few Malaysians. I am typically not one who will approach strangers and strike up a friendship, but being with my cousin who has a more outgoing personality than me, it was easier to step outside my comfort zone.

I could talk about our adventures, but instead I will share some of my favorite photographs.

img_0706

DSC_0060.jpg

Entrance to Batu caves, 272 steps to the top

16602141_10212677773646015_7399799688790211007_o.jpg

16722621_10212677877848620_3588422261779340591_o.jpg

Devotees at the caves

DSC_0081.jpg

DSC_0131.jpgDSC_0139.jpg

DSC_0119.jpg

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s the company and not the destination

  1. Karen SYmons says:

    looks like you are having a lot of fun…please email or call me. I have booked our flights!

    Like

  2. I love this post! I love seeing all the wonderful photos! Looks like you and your cousin had so much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joyroses13 says:

    Great that you had a wonderful time and I totally agree with you. It is the company. The best of company can make even the dullest place sparkle! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

