Home through my perspective

Spending the past 3 months in Sri Lanka with my family and friends has been incredible. It has been a while since I have had the opportunity to have constructive time with them. Typically my vacations there are for 2 weeks and mostly includes me being away spending time with my friends. However, this time I was able to cook and bake for my family and friends and spend time having long conversations in person.

What I enjoyed the most was the opportunity to reconnect with friends and the place that I used to call home for most of my adult life and still think of as home to a great extent. I guess it will always be home considering, I don’t get questioned as to where I am from or how I got there or any other questions I get typically asked in the US.

Walking around the streets of Colombo with my camera, gave me a new perspective to the things I used to take for granted. The crowded roads, the people standing around trying to make a living selling the most random things, the fruit and vegetable sellers and even the fish market, where you watch the boats come in from sea with fresh seafood you can purchase.

I tried looking at everything from an outsiders perspective and understand the quaintness that relates to this place. I could take pictures of the beautiful waterfalls, the beach and the wildlife, but I believe that the people have a more interesting story to tell. So here are some of my pictures of this place, through my perspective.

IMG_0770.jpg

A tuk tuk speeding down the road (a common mode of transport)

DSC_0160.jpg

Traditional dancers 

 

IMG_0748.jpg

 

DSC_0021 (2)

This kid was helping her mother sort fish, but stopped to pose for me

DSC_0030

DSC_0015.jpg

That is shrimp in their baskets being taken to get weighed 

17038572_10212873571660843_3069451229515472477_o

A roadside cobbler

 

 

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0026

DSC_0053.jpg

IMG_0774.jpg

About my random musings

I am originally from South East Asia and I moved to the US about 15 years ago to follow my heart. My heart has since been broken a few times, but I continue to be on journey of trying to mend it. I could talk about running, baking or writing in a small crowd, but put me in a room full of strangers and I will be the one standing in a corner people watching. When I am not writing or running, I would be in my kitchen, flour strewn all over the kitchen counters, music playing in the background and me just rolling and folding dough, excited about what my creation will turn out to be. Besides that I love passionately, when I love, I give it my all, not always a good thing, but that is who I am. I jump both feet in and sometimes I come out with regrets but having learnt a lesson. I believe everything happens for a reason and this is my place to share bits and pieces of my life, my adventures and sometimes misadventures. Hope you enjoy reading my stories as much I enjoy sharing them with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Home through my perspective

  1. Ann Coleman says:

    What a beautiful people! Thanks for sharing the photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such wonderful photos! I love seeing Sri Lanka through your eyes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment